A beautiful day to (not) see a vulture!

Having heard about the rare and impressive Lammergeier visiting The Peak District, I was inspired to make a return visit.

The beautiful area was my home for the first few years of my life, and I have made returned visits since, but I hadn’t seen those beautiful rolling hills in about 10 years. It was wonderful to be back there! I headed first to Bakewell, but on seeing the crowds I headed straight out! Then on to Buxton, and from there I made the leap to the last known sighting of the Lammergeier (that day), Ladybower Reservoir. Finding a lay-by where a few other birders had gathered, I stopped and asked them if they had seen the illusive bird. They had watched the vulture fly over at 11:00 that morning, I was a few hours late! But my journey wasn’t in vain, I wanted to visit The Peaks, seeing the Vulture would just be a bonus. So I went on a hike up the heather covered hills. It was beautiful! Well worth the journey!

I had a wonderful day, The Peak District is a beautiful place, I hope I can return again soon!

 

Tagged

Leave a comment