My New Neighbourhood: Part 3

I found my new local patch. A stunning little SSSI just down the road from my new home.
My first visit there was quite by accident, it was the first place I explored! It was gorgeous, purple willowherb and creamy-white meadowsweet. I strolled the boardwalk admiring this little gem of a find, excited at everything I saw.

Rosebay WillowherbA view of the SSSI MeadowMeadowsweet and WillowherbBoardwalk round the SSSIChiffchaff

My second visit was a few days later, this time it was at golden hour. My goodness was the lighting wonderful! It made the place look totally anew!

A view of the meadow at golden hourBoardwalk in the warm lightMeadow at golden hourMeadow at golden hourMeadow at golden hour

A week or so later I visited again, the flowers are fading but the insect life has come out in force. The place is alive with dragonflies, squabbling Speckled Wood and various hungry hoverflies.

Brown HawkerBrown HawkerSpeckled WoodSquabbling Speckled WoodMNN-P3 14MNN-P3 16Common DarterCommon DarterI’m only just beginning my explorations, so I hope to find many more wild places to enjoy.
This summer has been quite a busy one.
A new home, new experiences and new adventures!

Panorama of the SSSI

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “My New Neighbourhood: Part 3

  1. Tony says:

    Some cracking captures there Lu and isn’t a joy to discover new places on your doorstep. I’ve been doing that a lot myself of late.

    Best Wishes

    Tony Powell and naturestimeline

  2. Good stuff here, though I suspect my appreciation of it is different to most. I’m blind, so the photos pass me by a bit, but I really empathise with thesense of new discovery. I have recently become a wheelchair user, so I am having to redraw my personal maps, and I too have discovered my local Nature Reserve. It’s wonderful, and so I know how you feel!

Leave a Reply

