A little closer!

Christmas was kind to my camera! I had a few additional gadgets to add to my kit.

The first was a doubler to increase the telescopic length of my lens, bringing me that much closer to would-be distant wildlife. I was advised against a x2 zoom, some saying get a x1.4 zoom, others saying don’t bother at all. But I love my 2x zoom, it is testing my technical camera skills with great rewards.

Robin

My other gadget is a set of macro-tubes; placed between the camera body and lens to act as a magnifier. Again this is also testing my technical camera knowledge with great rewards. My first test drive was of the tubes was on fabrics. My first test on a living thing was of a crocus which I think looks a little like a Georgia O’Keeffe painting.

PashminaCrocus

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also got very lucky on Easter Sunday, a rare moment of sunshine brought the bees out of the hives and I got this lovely shot.

Honeybee

I’m sure I’m going to have more fun with these gadgets in the summer months in the mean time I’ll keep watching the migrants arrive and the buds unfurl!

Primrose in budLeaf in bud

Willow Warbler

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

