Eight Legged Freaks

Having used a spider photo in my previous blog, and after reading a blog @aBugBlog about spiders, I thought I would share a few of my favourite spider photos and memories!

Mary-Jane 2Mary-Jane 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary-Jane 3Mary-Jane 4

 

 

 

 

 

Mary-Jane, an Orb Web Spider, named by my flatmate in honour of Spiderman‘s girlfriend/wife (depending on which graphic novel/film/cartoon you like!). She sat in our porch all winter, hunkered down, legs tucked in under her body. My flatmate recounts how I walked up to Mary-Jane one night – her front legs were splayed out, and as I approached saying ‘look at you all spread out’ I threw my arms out and went ‘RAGH’ at Mary-Jane in mimicry of her posture and attitude. This rather amused my flatmate who still likes to remind me of the day I forgot myself!

Garden SpiderGarden Spider and Ladybird

 

 

 

 

Garden Spider and WaspGarden Spider and Honeybee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Autumn of 2010 saw the UK entertain a huge population of Garden Spiders; I was finding them everywhere as they dined on ladybirds, wasps and honeybees. Looking at these spiders was my turning point, I had never really taken to spiders till this influx. Taking a closer look I realised just how amazing these creatures are as my skin-crawling feeling dissipated.

Nursey Web Spider

Nursey Web Spider

Then, of course, we have Nursery Web Spiders. They are diligent parents, carefully carrying their huge white egg sacks underneath their grey and brown striped body.

Harvestman

Not all spiders are compacted tough looking things, some look delicate and intricate! I found these Harvestman on a walk at local Nature Reserve. I very nearly missed them even though they where sat right beneath an information sign!

Tiny Spider 1Tiny Spider 2

 

 

 

 

Tiny Spider 3Tiny Spider 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are tiny spiders that we walk past every day, so often ignored or unnoticed. It’s only when you take a closer look you appreciate the intricate pattern and beautiful structure of both the animal and its web!

Crab Spider

One weekend I headed out for a drive looking for somewhere nice to explore with my camera, and I didn’t get far before an opportunity arose to capture an image of a fascinating creature! This Crab Spider sat on my red car couldn’t have stood out more if it had tried!

Bonfire Spider

This delicate little spider, silhouetted against the orange light of a roaring bonfire caught my attention in the middle of a fireworks display! It is amongst my favourite photographs, in a set of photographs I call ‘Bonfire Spider’! I’ve never tried to make an identification of the species, I’ve never wanted to! Despite my scientific background, sometimes it’s okay to let a spider just be a spider!

House Spider

And finally, an Autumn Watch favourite, the House Spider! The spider that can make a pitter patter from walking on a plastic bag; set your watch to their daily patrol; climb your curtains. These are pets that allow you share their home!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Eight Legged Freaks

  1. Another great post, Lu!
    Your ‘bonfire spider’ photo is superb.
    I loved the closing paragraph too – I remember sharing my house with a huge spider which would wander boldly across my living-room floor each evening at 11.50pm… as regular as clockwork, almost as if to say; “Right, off YOU go to bed because this is MY room now!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

